History of IQSSL

The first light of the Institute of Quantity Surveyors Sri Lanka, dawned in the Seminar on Surveying and Land Economy in held at the BMICH - Colombo, Sri Lanka in October 1974. The Seminar was organized by the Commonwealth Association of Surveying and Land Economy (CASLE).This three day Seminar approved a resolution moved by Mr. James Nisbet FRICS, which stated "Bearing in mind the importance of the construction industry to the social and economic development of Sri Lanka, the Seminar urges the Quantity Surveying practitioners to ensure without delay the provision of proper education and training facilities for Quantity Surveyors and Quantity Surveying technicians at the universities and technical institutions".

There were only five professionally qualified Quantity Surveyors in Sri Lanka at that time namely, late Professor H. P. S. Caldera, Mr. T. P. Miskin and Mr. H. D. Chandrasena (All from Buildings Department), Mr. Prasad Senarathne (State Engineering Corporation of Sri Lanka), Mr. S. Pulendran (National Water Supply and Drainage Board). All of them actively assisted the main organizer of the Seminar, the Surveyors Institute of Sri Lanka.

Inaugural meeting of the Institute of Quantity Surveyors Sri Lanka was held in 4th July 1983 at the office of Mr. T. P. Miskin with the participation of the following Quantity Surveyors.

1. Prof. H. P. S. Caldera.
2. Mr. T. P. Miskin.
3. Mr. H. D. Chandrasena.
4. Mr. S. Gnanasekaram.
5. Mr. R. E. Allen.
6. Mrs. Chitra Weddikkara.

At the second meeting held on 1st December 1983, following were elected to the office of the President, Vice President, Secretary and the Treasurer. They are the first office bearers of the Institute.

1. Prof. H. P. S. Caldera - President
2. Mr. H. D. Chandrasena. - Vice President
3. Mr. T. P. Miskin - Hony. Secretary
4. Mr. G. S. W. Jayaweera. - Treasurer

The Institute’s pursuit for its rightful place in the Construction Industry and national recognition was greatly hampered due to the inadequate professional membership in the Institute. In order to remedy this situation the Institute decided to modify the hitherto followed criteria for selection of corporate members and to conduct Tests of Professional Competence for eligible practicing Quantity Surveyors and admit successful candidates as corporate members. Out of the eligible candidates Mrs. Chitra Weddikkara, Mr. D. G. Jayarathne and Mr. A. D. P. Gunarathne were the first batch of Corporate Members admitted under this route in May 1985. The new route for corporate membership thus provided the opportunity for senior practicing Quantity Surveyors to become corporate members of the Institute. It is noteworthy that the Institute’s initial application for membership of the Organization of Professional Associations (OPA) was not considered due to the inadequate number of corporate members. Subsequently the Institute was admitted as a member association of the OPA in 1998.

The Institute of Quantity Surveyors Sri Lanka was incorporated as a limited liability company under the Companies Act No. 17 of 1982 on 18th April 1986 and the Quantity Surveyors who subscribed to this incorporation were as follows;

1. Prof. H. P. S. Caldera.
2. Mr. T. P. Miskin.
3. Mr. Mr. H. D. Chandrasena.
4. Mr. S. G. W. Jayaweera.
5. Mr. S. Gnanasekaram.
6. Mrs. Chitra Weddikkara.
7. Mr. A. D. P. Gunaratne.
8. Mr. D. G. Jayarathna.

The Institute was also admitted to international professional bodies namely Commonwealth Association of Surveying and Land Economy (CASLE), Pacific Association of Quantity Surveyors (PAQS) and International Cost Engineering Council (ICEC). Institute also has Reciprocity Agreement with the Australian Institute of Quantity Surveyors (AIQS) for the benefit of the members of both professional bodies. It is during tenure of office of the immediate present President of the Institute Professor Mrs. Chitra Weddikkara who is also the longest serving President of the Institute, that the above affiliations and agreements materialized.

Content for id "leftColumnps" Goes Here

In 2007, Institute was incorporated by the Act of Parliament as the Act No. 20 of 2007. The Act not only conferred the Institute the statutory status as a chartered body but also elevated the Institute to the unique position of being the only Chartered professional body solely representing the Quantity Surveying professionals. In this connection the Institute gratefully acknowledge the services rendered by Dr. E.M.G. de Zylva the then C.E.O. of the Construction Guarantee Fund for his valuable assistance and guidance in preparing the draft of the Bill for incorporation. The Institute also respectfully records the invaluable sponsorship of Hon. P. Dayaratne and Hon.Keheliya Rambukwella in presenting the Bill to the Parliament.

From the inception the institute was working in close association with the agencies under the Ministry of Construction and Engineering Services, such as the Institute for Construction of Training and Development ( ICTAD ) and Centre for Housing , Planning and Development (CHPB ). IQSSL was represented in almost all working committee on formulating Specification of Works and Standard Bidding Documents. The Institute is also a member of the Steering Committee for revising the ICTAD Publications.

In the field of Quantity Surveying education the Institute through its founding professional members pioneered the Degree Course at the University of Moratuwa and Certificate Course Quantity Surveying ( National Certificate in Technology Quantity Surveying ) It was due to this untiring efforts of late professor H.P.S. Caldera , Mr. T.P. Miskin and H.D. Chandrasena acting under the guidance of late Professor Rupert Peiris the then Dean of the Faculty of Architecture University of Moratuwa and Engineer Conred Tissera the former Senior Assistant Secretary of the Ministry of Local Government , Housing & Construction and the Chairman ICTAD.

Among the objectives of the Institute following are of paramount importance;

(a) To protect and promote the interests, status, welfare, rights and privileges of the professional and interest of the public in relation to the profession of Quantity Surveyors.

(b) To advise and communicate with public authorities on matters relating to Quantity Surveying.

(c) To undertake the professional education and training of persons intimating to become Quantity Surveyors and to prescribe and approve courses of studies and qualifying examinations for membership.

The Institute currently has a membership of over 2,000 members. Membership of the Institute is open to persons who are engaged primarily in Quantity Surveying and have possessed the required qualifications for the particular membership categories. The Fellows and Associates are Corporate members while Honorary Fellow members, Graduate members, Registered members, Probationary members, Student members are Non Corporate members.

Management, control and administration of the affairs of the Institute is vested on the Council consisting of the President, Immediate Past President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Assistant Secretary and Assistant Treasurer and Eight (8) Council Members.

Content for id "rightColumnps" Goes Here